sexual healing

23 08 2006

so last night, marjie and I stopped at taco bell for dinner after walking 15 miles all over DC in order for her to get her visa for India. In any case, in walks this girl who looked, oh, about 12, who was extremely pregnant. I just don’t understand.

It makes me so angry that we do, as a society, such a shitty job of educating our teenagers, our children, about sex. This administration, and quite frankly almost every one before, has only made it harder to educate the children that are having sex. I’m 25 years old, I’ve been married for almost four years and I know I am certainly not ready to have a child. What is the problem? Why can’t we feel comfortable saying to these kids what a big deal sex is? Why is it all so uncomfortable? Why can’t someone come up with a program that helps kids to understand all the emotional and health ramifications while letting them know that there are other options out there?

In a world that is post-sexual revolution, past the days of free love and all that jazz, how is it that AIDs is still running rampant, that unwanted pregnancies are a dime a dozen, and my gynecologist’s nurse still couldn’t look me in the face today when she asked if I’d ever had any STDs? I went to the doctor today (you were warned!) to discuss new birth control options for us. I went in having done my homework, I knew what I thought I wanted, I just needed to talk to a real doctor about the options and side effects. She must have told me 5 times how impressed she was that I came in already knowing these things, having taken control of what is going on in my own life and body. Why is it that the majority of women aren’t doing that? Why would she have been so impressed if she doesn’t encounter that more often? Why can’t more women feel like it’s their right and responsibility to stay informed?

Is it because since they were children, they’ve been taught that a) sex is dirty b) they shouldn’t enjoy it c)they’re sluts if they do? I mean honestly, that’s what we’ve all been taught, right? Why is that? And it continues, schools today are filled with programs that push abstinence above all other things, which I honest to God don’t have a problem with. But, they aren’t letting them know that there are a million other options. I agree with Marjie that we should be pushing blow jobs. I mean, at least then they aren’t getting pregnant. These poor girls can’t ask their parents to take them to a doctor to get birth control, how in the hell do they think they’re going to tell them, PS, I’m pregnant? In addition to the fact that they completely ignore the emotional ramifications of being sexually active. Don’t have sex, you’ll get pregnant, you’ll get AIDs and you’ll die. That was the message we got.

And don’t even get me started on the church. They do an even worse job than the schools. In the fourth grade, I signed a True Love Waits pledge. The fourth grade? Now, I realize that kids are having sex younger and younger, believe me I do. But to talk ambiguiously about sex in sunday school when you’re 9 and then never really talk about it again? Why aren’t they talking about it in the high school classes? In college? What the hell? I am thrilled to death that Sean and I have never been with anyone else, it worked out for us. I had a dad that never made me feel like I needed to EARN another man’s love. Not every girl is so blessed. And not many people are out there for those girls.

I don’t really know how to end this rant. little girls are still going to be getting pregnant, women are still getting diseases, and until someone feels like actually talking to them about their own bodies, I guess that’s just how it’s going to be.
-frustrated, e

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

